Easy Weeknight Dinner: Quiche!

There’s something to be said for spending a whole day in the kitchen, slowly cooking the most delicate and delicious meal.  I love it.  It relaxes me.

But sometimes (okay, more like five days out of every week), I want something simple, quick, and delicious.  I mean, who doesn’t?  Rachael Ray got wildly popular because she perfected the 30-minute meal.  Perfect time frame, good ingredients, perfect for busy people (aka, Americans).

My go-to “I-don’t-want-to-cook-but-I’m-too-broke-for-takeout” meal is quiche.  So so simple.  So so quick.  And almost impossible to screw up.  Hell, if it comes out and it’s too bland, put a little ketchup on it and it’s instantly better.  That’s my motto, anyway.

Luckily, I have yet to make a bland quiche.  I’ve done many, many different combinations of ingredients in my quiche.  I mostly just use whatever is in my fridge that needs to get used up soon.  Kitchen sink quiche, ha!

Screen Shot 2015-10-15 at 6.14.13 PM

I start with a pre-made pie crust that I let defrost in my fridge overnight.  If you just bought a crust from the store, no need to defrost.  I set the one crust out on my counter to warm up while I make the quiche.  Best part is – one box of pie crust makes two quiche!  Freeze the other one for a later time.

I chop up any veggies I have that I want to use.  Usually it’s broccoli.  This summer it was a lot of tomatoes.  Prepping all the ingredients makes it that much quicker when I assemble the pie.

I lay out my crust in a pie pan that has been sprayed with some EVOO spray so it isn’t a stuck mess.  Been there, done that way too many times.

Screen Shot 2015-10-15 at 6.13.55 PM

I put all my veggies (or ham, or bacon, or chicken, or sausage – you get the point, right?) into the pie crusted pan.

I scramble my eggs with some chicken stock, salt and pepper, and whatever seasonings I’m feeling.  Most people use milk to scramble their eggs, which is fine, but for a lactose free or lightly lactose pie, chicken stock works beautifully.  Here is where I add in any cheese that I want in my quiche.  I always put parmesan-romano in it.  Always.  Mozzarella is nice too.

Then, I pour my egg mixture overtop of the veggies in the crust and bake for about 35-40 minutes.

That’s it.  That’s really all it takes to make a perfect, delicious quiche.  The recipe below is for a tomato-rosemary-brie quiche which was FAB-U-LOUS.  But those things can really be substituted for anything.

Screen Shot 2015-10-15 at 6.14.22 PM

Some combos I’ve done (and loved):

  • Tomato-rosemary-brie
  • Bacon and broccoli
  • Ham-broccoli-muenster
  • Homemade sausage-caramelized onions-peppers
  • Broccoli and cheddar

Endless possibilities I tell ya!  🙂

This recipe below is an image, so just right click and save it or print it!Screen Shot 2015-10-08 at 5.25.52 PM

Let me know what kind of combinations your love in your quiche!

xoxo,
Screen Shot 2014-11-29 at 8.13.51 AM

One thought on “Easy Weeknight Dinner: Quiche!

Leave a comment